Aunt Ann’s labor attorney, Lisa Weinberger filled us in on the most recent updates regarding employment law in California. Below you’ll find updated information regarding minimum wage increases, extended paid parental leave and sexual harassment training policies.
MINIMUM WAGE INCREASES:
Many cities and counties throughout California raise their minimum wage in July of each year. Below are the new minimum wages for the jurisdictions that most impact our clients (please note that this is not an exhaustive list):
- Berkeley: $16.07/hour.
- Los Angeles City: $15/hour for employers with 26 or more employees; $14.25/hour for employers with 25 or fewer employees.
- Los Angeles County (unincorporated areas): $15/hour for employers with 26 or more employees; $14.25/hour for employers with 25 or fewer employees.
- San Francisco: $16.07/hour.
Employers should keep in mind that employees are entitled to receive the minimum wage in the city or county where they provide services. With many employees working remotely as a result of COVID-19, employers should ensure that they are meeting all minimum wage requirements in the cities and counties where their employees reside to the extent that those minimum wages may be higher than the jurisdiction where employees previously reported to work.
SEXUAL HARASSMENT TRAINING:
With all that has happened so far in 2020, it can be easy to forget that employers with 5+ employees still have to comply with their obligations for sexual harassment training.
As promised, the Department of Fair Employment and Housing (“DFEH”) has made free, compliant online trainings available on its website for both supervisory and non-supervisory trainings.
PAID PARENTAL LEAVE:
California’s Paid Family Leave program now provides eight weeks of benefits to eligible employees (it previously provided only six). In connection with this statewide expansion, San Francisco’s Paid Parental Leave Ordinance, which requires certain employers to provide supplemental compensation to employees collecting Paid Family Leave wage replacement benefits, will also increase paid supplementation from six weeks to eight weeks.
Earlier this month, the California State Senate passed a measure that, if it becomes law, would significantly expand the availability of unpaid family leave in the state. If enacted, Senate Bill 1383 would extend family leave protections to employers with five or more employees and require covered employers to provide eligible workers with up to 12 weeks of unpaid family leave for the birth, adoption or serious illness of a child; to care for a seriously ill parent or spouse, grandparent, or other listed relative; and so that an employee can deal with their own serious health condition or with the absence of a spouse, domestic partner, child or parent called to active duty in the U.S. armed forces. This bill still has to pass the Assembly, but if it does, Governor Newsom has said that he will sign it into law.
Each employment situation is different and deserves a thoughtful approach based upon its specific dynamic. Please do not hesitate to reach out to Aunt Ann’s or Lisa Weinberger for additional questions and services.