childcare & domestic staff
Our Family Serving your Family Since 1958.

San Francisco & North Bay  415.749.3650
Peninsula  650.573.1000
East Bay  925.933.2273
Contact Us

Aunt Ann's In-House Staffing's Client Published: February 26, 2019
Location
San Francisco, California
Job Type
Category
Industry
Childcare
Position
Nanny
Schedule
Monday to Friday, typically 9a-5p, flexibility required
Salary Amount or Range
$65k - $70k, D.O.E. + paid overtime
Children
infant
Pets
2 cats
Bay Area region
San Francisco

Description

THIS POSITION HAS BEEN FILLED.

Overview:

A full time Nanny/Household Assistant is required for a family with one infant daughter in Bernal Heights, San Francisco. One mother is a work-from-home (WFH) mom, currently breastfeeding an infant; the other parent works full time and commutes. The purpose of this position is to fill in the gaps in child care and household maintenance due to the mother’s WFH schedule. They see it as a mix of childcare and helping around the house — part nanny, part household assistant. Some flexibility is both required and offered for the right candidate.

They would like someone for this position long-term, ~2-3 years, beginning in March, April, or May (ideally beginning mid-March). When they find the right candidate, they would like to do an initial trial period of one to two weeks.

Work conditions: The position will be 35 to 40 hours per week, with hours each week varying slightly depending on the schedules of the family members. Schedule will be set generally at least two weeks in advance, and as much consistency as possible will be attempted; they also have some flexibility on their end to accommodate personal time requests for the Nanny. Days of work will typically be Monday-Friday, 9am to 5pm, with some shifts in schedule to accommodate weekday evening or weekend hours (for example, shifting a weekday to 1:00 to 9:00pm, or skipping a weekday and working a Saturday evening instead). The family can offer flexibility whenever possible, and can utilize babysitting or back-up nanny services when the nanny is not available.

This is a live-out position. The Nanny would be welcome to join the family for meals when with the family, sharing in the workload of meal preparation and cleanup. The household has two friendly cats. The home is non-smoking. A family car is available for all tasks that require driving, and the family is open to offering use of the car for personal requests too.

Salary and benefits: Salary will be negotiable and set annually depending on experience, and raises and bonuses will be offered in gratitude for ongoing service as well as paid overtime (above 40 hours in any week). Ten days of paid vacation annually (scheduled in advance) and five days paid sick leave are offered. It is not expected that the Nanny will take their vacation time at the same time as the family. (In addition to paid leave, there will be several long weekends and two weeks annually of light work and house/cat-sitting when the family does vacation/travel.) There are other “perks” offered and the opportunity to accompany the family on some travel (paid for hours worked, with expenses covered) if desired, which family will share with interviewed candidates.

Experience Requirements

-Minimum 3 years childcare experience (with references), at least some of which is infant care experience

Educational Requirements

-Fluent in English
-Familiar with developmental milestones

Qualifications

-Reliable and honest
-Able to take initiative
-Good communicator
-Queer-friendly — it is important to the family to teach child about and expose her to diversity of all kinds
-Cat friendly
-Positive and flexible

Responsibilities

Tasks will vary day-to-day and will include some of the following:

-Child care (variable but approximately 20 hours per week while child is a breastfed infant — while mother is working from home, one evening/week, and some weeks one weekend day or evening shift).
-Playing with infant and supervising independent play time, feeding if mother is out, burping, changing and soothing her, putting her down for naps, reading stories and supporting development, taking for walks, occasional evening bedtime routine, outings to the local playground or library, or other age-appropriate activities as she grows into a toddler.

-Day-to-day light housekeeping such as meal preparation (typically simple lunch for the mother and nanny; dinner prep some weekdays for the parents), loading and unloading dishwasher, washing and putting away dishes/cookware, laundry, emptying trash bins, tidying up, watering plants, etc. Light cleaning tasks (e.g. sweeping, laundry, wiping surfaces, changing sheets or towels). The house also has a biweekly professional cleaner.
-Shopping for groceries or other household necessities. Running other occasional errands.
-Cat care tasks - i.e. replenishing food or water, playing with them, scooping litter tray.
-Other tasks necessary to the running of a household - such as planning/coordinating calendar, ordering supplies, scheduling or coordinating household services such as gardener, cleaner, and back-up childcare.

Skills

-Minimum 3 years childcare experience (with references), at least some of which is infant care experience
-Infant CPR certified (family will pay for attendance at this class if need be.)
-Must have valid driver’s licence; comfortable driving in city, good driving record
-Criminal record check required
Apply
Availability
Household Profile
CHILDCARE Job Duties
CHEF/COOK Job Duties
HOUSEKEEPING Job Duties
EDUCATION
LOCATIONS WILLING TO WORK
BACKGROUND CHECK
WORK HISTORY
Drop files here browse files ...
Captcha
Are you sure you want to delete this file?
/